Your source for good fiction.

NaNo Dread?

Is anyone other than me having serious NaNoWriMo dread?

I did it last year to show one of my friends that I could do it, and I did. I think I could do it again. I have two separate ideas I could possibly turn into a story if I wanted to, but I’m not sure how much I do.

Sometimes it feels to me, that you’re made to think that if you don’t do NaNo that you’re not a ‘serious’ writer and only ‘serious’ writers take part in NaNoWriMo. Etc etc etc. When I think of NaNo I can’t help but imagine this group of elitist writers sitting around and doing nothing but gloating about how good of a writer they are.

I don’t know. Sometimes I really can’t stand NaNo, but again, I’ll probably wind up doing it again to prove to people and myself especially, that last year wasn’t a fluke. It just really drives me nuts sometimes to hear people getting in a tizzy about Nano. Let me have my October before being inundated with ‘OMG IT’S TIME FOR NANO I HAVE NO IDEAS WHAT DO I DO? IT’S NANO TIME WHO IS NANO-ING?! NANONANO!’

Is that bad? Is there anyone else having a NaNoWriMo anxiety attack already?

6 responses

  1. Sarah Jo

    You should never feel like you have to prove yourself to anyone. Because you are awesome. Do it if you enjoy it and if it’ll be fun. Otherwise, don’t, and screw anyone who thinks negatively of that decision. It doesn’t mean you’re not a ‘serious’ writer, not good at writing, etc. Taking on another writing project (along with TotTSM) might just burn you out and get you down. But I’m a reader not a writer.. so feel free to disregard my opinion.

    Love you ! xo

    October 5, 2011 at 22:35

  2. Aww. Thank ye Sarah pooh. ❤

    October 5, 2011 at 23:03

  3. Nice post! Two sides of the same coin, NaNo Dread and NaNo Fever. Which will win??

    October 6, 2011 at 00:32

    • Haha. Good question. I wish I knew at this point.

      October 6, 2011 at 00:35

      • Trust me, none of us know at this point, lol

        October 6, 2011 at 00:52

      • Haha. Good. Phew. XD

        October 8, 2011 at 07:30

Leave a Reply

